Lobby for Cyprus is a non-party-political human rights organisation campaigning for a reunited Cyprus.
Print this page Print Bookmark and Share

Cyprus Facts
Background information
The Republic of Cyprus is an independent island state and third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea, after Sicily and Sardinia. Cyprus lies in the northeastern part of the Mediterranean, approximately 65 km (40m) south of Turkey and 110 km (65m) west of Syria.

Official name
Republic of Cyprus


Demetris Christofias. 

Cyprus is a presidential republic. The head of state and of the government is the president, who is elected for a five-year term.

Estimated at 877,600 with 76 percent belonging to the Greek Cypriot community, 10 percent to the Turkish Cypriot community and 14 percent foreign nationals. Armenians, Maronites and Latins make up one percent of the population. They have opted to join the Greek Cypriot community. These figures exclude the illegal Turkish colonists sent to the island by Turkey. (Source: Government of Republic of Cyprus, December 2007.)

Nicosia (Lefkosia)

9,251 sq km (3,572 sq miles)
37 percent of the island is currently under illegal Turkish occupation
Britain maintains 99 sq m of military bases on the island

Offical languages
Greek, Turkish

Major religions
Christianity (Greek Orthodox), Islam

Life expectancy
76 years (men), 80 years (women) (UN)

Monetary unit
The Euro

Main exports
Clothing, potatoes, pharmaceuticals

GNI per capita
US $12,320 (World Bank, 2001)

Internet domain

International dialling code

Membership of international organisations
The Republic of Cyprus is a member of the United Nations (20 September 1960), the Commonwealth of Nations (1961), the Organisation on Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), the World Trade Organization (WTO), The World Bank, International Monetary Fund, the Council of Europe, and European Union (2004)